MCU Phase 2

image image image image

With Guardians of the Galaxy out in theaters now (and doing very well in the box office), Phase 2 of The Avengers is almost complete. I thought it would be fun to rank the Phase 2 movies, so here we go.

From my least favorite to my absolute favorite:

4) Thor: The Dark World
You should know that even though this one is last on my list doesn’t mean that I don’t enjoy it. It is a great movie, lots of action and lots of humor, but honestly, I feel like The Dark World was less about the Marvel Cinematic Universe and more about giving the fangirls more Tom Hiddlestion.

3) Iron Man 3

I enjoy Iron Man 3 a little more each time that I watch it. The twist with the villain still bugs me some and the classic Tony Stark humor is toned down as the hero struggles with a form of PTSD following the events of The Avengers but it is still a solid addition to the MCU.

2) Guardians of the Galaxy
You can read my review of the movie over at TheDisneyBlog, but in short, this movie was a lot of fun. I love the light heartedness of the movie and the heavy dose of humor. But, like The Dark World, it doesn’t move the MCU forward.

1) Captain America: Winter Soldier
I love this movie. The story is great, the humor is there and the aftermath of the movie is universe changing. There is a significance to this movie that the other movies don’t have (though, I suspect that the aftermath of Iron Man 3 will be felt in Avengers: Age of Ultron). I am a fan of the characters individually and their movies, but I am a huge fan of the Cinematic Universe as a whole and I love that Winter Soldier has such huge implications for the whole Universe.

How would you rank Marvel’s Phase 2 movies?

Also, who else is ready for May 1, 2015?

Leave a Reply

