Muppets Most Wanted

20140324-070033.jpg

I have a confession to make: I am not a huge fan of the Muppets. I don’t dislike them, I just don’t have that nostalgic love for them the way people who are a few years older than me do.

I grew up in the 90’s so, for me, the Muppets were either babies, on Treasure Island or in Space. Muppets Take Manhattan was my only exposure to “classic Muppets” as a kid.

That said, I enjoy the viral videos they’ve done over the years and I really love the reboot/sequel they did a couple of years ago.

So, let’s talk Muppets Most Wanted, shall we?

There were criticisms of the last movie not feeling like a Muppet movie. For some, it seemed to lack the zaniness and the gags that are associated with the franchise (instead, it focused on this weird thing called “story.” Crazy, right?).

Muppets Most Wanted heard the critics and responded. This movie has the crazy, disjointed, throw as many gags and celebrity cameos in as we can, feel that a classic Muppets movie has. What that means for me, is that I didn’t enjoy it as much as the last movie. The songs were more hit or miss this time, with only a couple standing out.

Most of the gags were funny and, overall, it was a good movie, but putting the focus on gags and celebrity cameos made for a weaker story.

The emotional tie for this movie was on Kermit and Piggy’s relationship, which has always been a little weird to me, so I never really got emotionally tied to the movie.

What did you think?;

One thought on “Muppets Most Wanted

  1. Good review Chris. Not as good as the 2011 film, but still fun and entertaining enough to be worth the watch. Besides, it’s the Muppets! How could you miss out on seeing them!?!?!

Leave a Reply

